St. Patrick’s Day is known to be a holiday in which many people consume alcohol. Unfortunately, it is also a day when individuals get behind the wheel while under the influence. Continue reading and reach out to our skilled McAllen, Texas DWI lawyer today if you have been charged with a DWI.
What are the consequences of a St. Patrick’s Day DWI in Texas?
The state of Texas takes DWI charges very seriously, which is why if you were charged for the first time this St. Patrick’s day, you will still likely face harsh life-altering consequences. A first offense DWI charge in Texas will likely result in the following penalties:
- A 180-day jail sentence
- You may lose your driving privileges for up to one year
- You risk facing up to $2,000 in fines
- You will have to pay an annual fee of up to $2,000 for 3 years
What are the penalties after a second offense DWI?
When it comes to a second offense DWI, the penalties will be even more drastic, because there is a very high chance that you will face jail time of up to one year. You will likely face the following results after a second offense DWI in Texas:
- A $4,000 in fine
- An annual fee of $2,000 for 3 years
- You will lose your license for at least one year
Contact our firm today to speak with a skilled criminal defense attorney about your situation.
Will I go to jail for a third offense DUI in Texas?
You can expect that the consequences of a third offense DWI will only get more severe. A typical punishment for a third offense is that you may lose your driver’s license for up to two years. This can have long-term effects on your ability to receive a job, have a social life, and more. If you have obtained a third DWI charge or a subsequent one this St. Patrick’s Day, it is in your best interest to retain an experienced Texas criminal defense attorney to help you navigate and fight these charges. If you do not have an accomplished criminal defense attorney on your side, you may encounter the following penalties:
- You may go to jail for up to 10 years
- You will have to pay a $10,000 fine
- An annual fee of up to $2,000 for 3 years
Reach out to our firm today. Our skilled Hidalgo County, Texas criminal defense lawyer is on your side.
Contact Our Hidalgo County, Texas Firm
With collective decades of experience, the experienced attorneys at the Law Office of Angel Davila are committed to helping protect you from the penalties associated with a criminal conviction by defending you against charges of everything from DUI to Murder, and everything in between. We also help people through various family law and estate planning matters. Our firm proudly serves clients in Hidalgo County and throughout the state of Texas. For quality legal defense when you need it most, contact the Law Office of Angel Davila today.