What are the Consequences of a DWI this Fourth of July?

If you celebrated the Fourth of July this weekend, you likely did so by attending a barbeque, pool party, or any other type of gathering. Hopefully, if you consumed alcohol or drugs during these festivities, you planned your transportation accordingly. But if not, and you were convicted of a first, second, or third-offense DWI, it is important that you get this taken care of immediately. Continue reading to discover what penalties you are up against and how an experienced McAllen, Texas DWI lawyer at the Law Office of Angel Davila can help you to reduce or eliminate them altogether.

What are the penalties for a first-offense DWI this Fourth of July?

If your blood alcohol content shows up greater than .08 percent in your chemical breath test, you will be charged with a DUI. Even if this is your first offense, the stakes are high, especially since law enforcement officers crack down on these cases during the holiday weekend. The state of Texas imposes the following penalties for a first-offense DWI:

  • A fine of up to $2,000.
  • Anywhere between three to 180 days of jail time.
  • A driver’s license suspension for up to one year.
  • A maximum $2,000 fee each year for three years to retain your driver’s license.
  • Possible enrollment in DWI education or alcohol treatment programs.
  • Community service requirements.

What are the penalties for a second-offense DWI this Fourth of July?

As a repeat offender, the stakes are higher, as jail time is a true possibility. The potential penalties the Texas courts will inflict on you for a second-offense DWI are as follows:

  • A fine of up to $4,000.
  • Anywhere between one month to one year in jail.
  • A driver’s license suspension for anywhere between one to two years.
  • A maximum $2,000 fee each year for three years to retain your driver’s license.
  • Possible enrollment in DWI education or alcohol treatment programs.
  • Community service requirements.
  • Potential installation of the ignition interlock device.

What are the penalties for a third-offense DWI this Fourth of July?

And lastly, the penalties for a third-offense DWI are the most severe, with jail time being more likely than not. For a third-offense DWI in Texas, you are facing the following:

  • A $10,000 fine.
  • Anywhere between two and 10 years in prison.
  • A driver’s license suspension anywhere between one to two years.
  • A maximum $2,000 fee each year for three years to retain your driver’s license.
  • Potential installation of the ignition interlock device in your vehicle.

If you are facing any of the above charges, it is important that you retain the services of a skilled Hidalgo County, Texas criminal defense lawyer today.

Contact Our Hidalgo County, Texas Firm

For quality legal defense for criminal convictions, family law matters, and estate planning matters, contact the Law Office of Angel Davila today.