An assault conviction can impact you for years down the road, as a potential criminal record can hurt your future opportunities in your career and property ownership. If you are facing these charges, continue reading to see how a knowledgeable McAllen, Texas assault lawyer at the Law Office of Angel Davila can fight for their rights and lessen or eliminate these charges altogether.
What are the penalties for simple assault in Texas?
Texas law defines simple assault as intentionally, recklessly, or threateningly causing bodily injury, such as cuts or bruises, to another person. It can also be considered as taking part in provocative or offensive physical contact with another person.
If you are convicted of simple assault, you may be facing varying penalties that depend on the circumstances of the alleged assault. Typically, this is considered a Class C misdemeanor, which means a potential $500 fine. However, this charge can be elevated to a Class B or Class A misdemeanor if certain aggravating factors are present, such as if the person assaulted was elderly. In these cases, a Class B misdemeanor comes with a potential $2,000 fine and 180 days of incarceration, while a Class A misdemeanor has a potential $4,000 fine and one year of incarceration.
Additionally, there are certain circumstances where a simple assault may warrant felony charges. For example, if you inflicted bodily injury on a police officer, nurse, or another public servant, you may face third-degree felony assault charges that can lead to a potential $10,000 fine and anywhere between two to 10 years of incarceration.
What are the penalties for aggravated assault in Texas?
Texas law defines aggravated assault as intentionally or recklessly causing serious bodily injury, such as broken bones, to another person, or using or threatening to use a deadly weapon while committing an act of assault.
If you are charged with aggravated assault, this second-degree felony can have you facing a potential $10,000 fine and anywhere between two to 20 years of incarceration. Additionally, it can be considered a first-degree felony if it occurred under certain conditions, such as if you used a deadly weapon during an act of domestic assault and caused serious bodily injury to the other person. For a first-degree felony assault charge, you can expect to face a potential $10,000 fine and anywhere between five to 99 years of incarceration.
If you find yourself in this situation, contact a skilled Hidalgo County, Texas criminal defense lawyer today.
Contact Our Hidalgo County, Texas Firm
With collective decades of experience, the experienced attorneys at the Law Office of Angel Davila are committed to helping protect you from the penalties associated with a criminal conviction by defending you against charges of everything from DUI to Murder, and everything in between. We also help people through various family law and estate planning matters. Our firm proudly serves clients in Hidalgo County and throughout the state of Texas. For quality legal defense when you need it most, contact the Law Office of Angel Davila today.