There is a wide breadth of actions that constitute a harassment charge in the state of Texas. If you have been accused of harassment, this is not something that you should take lightly. This is because if this accusation ultimately turns into a conviction, then you may be facing some serious consequences. Follow along to find out the penalties that are associated with the different types of harassment charges and how a proficient Hidalgo County, Texas criminal defense lawyer at the Law Office of Angel Davila can come to your defense.
What are the different types of harassment?
Typically, harassment is considered to be a class B misdemeanor under Texas law. And with this, the general definition of harassment is seen in the following ways:
- Threatening to inflict serious bodily injury to annoy or alarm another person.
- Sending repeated electronic communications to annoy or alarm another person.
However, your harassment charge is escalated to a class A misdemeanor if any of the following apply:
- You have a previous harassment conviction.
- You harassed a minor, specifically via an electronic device.
Importantly, harassment is not to be confused with stalking. Your charge will be upgraded to stalking if any of the following apply:
- You threatened the bodily injury or death of another person.
- You threatened to destroy another person’s property.
What are the different penalties associated with the different types of harassment charges?
When a harassment charge is considered a class B misdemeanor, it carries the following consequences:
- Jail time of up to 180 days.
- Fines of up to $2,000.
- Probation from having a License to Carry a weapon for up to five years.
When it is escalated to a class A misdemeanor, the penalties are as follows:
- Jail time of up to one year.
- Fines of up to $4,000.
And lastly, if it is upgraded to stalking, it will be considered a third-degree felony offense. However, in the event that you already have been convicted of stalking, it will be considered a second-degree felony offense. The penalties would be as follows:
- Third-degree felony offense:
- Jail time of anywhere between two to 10 years.
- Second-degree felony offense:
- Jail time of anywhere between two to 20 years.
Evidently, there are serious repercussions to your harassing actions. For one, a harassment conviction will go on your permanent criminal record. This is why we recommend that you employ one of the talented McAllen, Texas lawyers as immediately as possible. We will tirelessly work to reduce or altogether eliminate these penalties placed against you. With any further hesitation, call to schedule your initial consultation today.