Accusations of domestic violence are notoriously damaging, and to make matters worse, these accusations are often false. Please continue reading and contact a McAllen, Texas domestic violence lawyer from the Law Office of Angel Davila today to learn more about these charges and how we can assist you.
McAllen, Texas Lawyer Serving Clients Accused of Domestic Violence | Protecting Your Good Name
Charged with domestic assault? Need competent representation to fight for you, your family, and your good name? You’ve come to the right place. All you need to do is speak with a Hidalgo County, Texas criminal defense lawyer from our firm at once. We can assess the circumstances of your charges and develop a strong defense against them.
Domestic Violence Defined Under Texas Law
Here in the state of Texas, domestic violence is defined as when one person commits an act of violence or otherwise takes action against a family or household member that either injures them, puts them at risk of injury, or causes them to feel threatened of imminent bodily injury. Therefore, crimes of assault or sexual assault against a family or household member are considered domestic violence in Texas. Someone can also face domestic violence charges for committing an act against someone they are dating or for abusing a child who is a family/household member.
Penalties for Domestic Assault Charges in Texas
Depending on the circumstances of the alleged act of domestic assault, a person can face either misdemeanor or felony domestic assault charges. Aggravated domestic assault charges are also on the table. The penalties for misdemeanor domestic violence charges in Texas are as follows:
- Class A (causing the victim to sustain bodily injury): A $4,000 fine and up to one year of incarceration
- Class C (threatening to harm another or engaging in “offensive contact”): A $500 fine
Aggravated Domestic Assault in Texas
A person can face charges of aggravated domestic assault if they either cause serious bodily injury to their victim, or they used/threatened to use a deadly weapon while committing the act of assault. Typically aggravated domestic assault is a second-degree felony, which entails anywhere between two and 20 years of incarceration and a potential $10,000 fine. That said, if the domestic assault caused serious bodily injury and a deadly weapon was used, a person can face a first-degree felony, which can entail between five and 99 years to life in prison and a potential $10,000 fine. Regardless of the charges you’re facing, your best option going forward is retaining the services of an experienced McAllen, Texas domestic violence lawyer who can fight for you.
Contact McAllen, Texas Domestic Violence Lawyer
Don’t make the mistake of trying to handle your case on your own. Domestic assault is seen as a particularly heinous crime, and those charged with it have a lot at stake. Simply contact the Law Office of Angel Davila today to schedule your free initial consultation with our legal team.