Fortunately, the state of Texas strongly supports the Second Amendment. However, there are various situations wherein a person may be charged with a gun crime without even realizing they were committing one. If you are someone who is currently facing gun charges, you can depend on a McAllen, Texas gun crimes lawyer from our firm to fight for you. Contact the Law Office of Angel Davila to learn more about how we can help.
Defending Those Charged With Gun Crimes in McAllen, Texas
The United States Constitution guarantees certain inalienable rights, including the right to bear arms. If you believe your rights have been violated or you are currently faced with gun charges, you need to speak with a competent Hidalgo County, Texas criminal defense attorney today. Our firm is here to assist you in any way we can.
Important Gun Laws in Texas
Generally speaking, Texas is a very Second Amendment-friendly state. Anyone who is above the age of 18 years old can purchase a rifle and anyone who is above the age of 21 years old can purchase a handgun. It is important to be aware that for private gun sales, a background check is not required and there is no limit on purchasing multiple firearms.
However, if purchasing a firearm at a dealer, you need to undergo a background check unless you already have your state-issued concealed carry handgun license. Anyone who wishes to apply for a handgun concealed carry license can apply online. Be aware that the application requires you to submit fingerprints, complete up to 6 hours of training, pass a written exam, and pass a shooting proficiency test. Other important information about firearm ownership in the state of Texas is as follows:
- There is no need to register handguns, shotguns, or rifles
- There is no permit required to carry a rifle or a shotgun, even though a permit is required to carry a handgun
- Texas recognizes Stand Your Ground and Castle Doctrine laws
Limitations on Gun Ownership
There are certain limitations that you should be aware of when it comes to exactly who is permitted to own a gun. As previously mentioned, no one under the age of 18 can possess a firearm. However, there are exceptions to this rule. A child who is under the age of 18 can own a gun as long as they have parental consent. Other individuals who are not permitted to own a firearm include the following:
- Convicted felons who have been released within the last 5 years
- Anyone confined in a penal institution
The state of Texas has additional limitations on certain types of firearms, accessories for firearms, as well as other weapons:
- Explosive weapons
- Machine guns
- Short-barreled firearms
- Firearm silencers (suppressors)
- Armor-piercing rounds
- Zip guns
Contact a McAllen, Texas Gun Crimes Lawyer
If you or a loved one has been arrested for a gun crime in the state of Texas, you need an attorney who can effectively defend your rights. At the Law Office of Angel Davila, our attorneys have a deep understanding of the complexities of Texas law and the criminal system throughout the state. To discuss your situation with an experienced McAllen, Texas gun crimes lawyer, contact the Law Office of Angel Davila today.